“The creative act lasts but a brief moment, a lightning instant of give-and-take, just long enough for you to level the camera and to trap the fleeting prey in your little box.”- Henri Cartier-Bresson

Have you ever had one of those moments? The ones when you’re having the time of your life, and somehow, subconsciously maybe, you stop and realize. You realize that you’re young, you’re having a great time, and no matter what, you’ll never be able to go back and enjoy it again.

I had one of those moments the other day. I was touring colleges with my mom, and I just got absolutely caught up in everything. I realized how quickly my junior year will be over, how close I am to college, and how much I’m ready to grow up. It was surreal, almost.

But I believe we also have moments like that in our writing. Moments when we get an idea and don’t have the time to write it down, and they’re gone. It’s frustrating, isn’t it? If you don’t capture your ideas when you get them, then they’re gone. Forever. You may be able to recover little bits and pieces, but it’ll never sound the same again.

I’ve been thinking about that a lot, what with Nano coming up. I’m still prepping, and I will be until 11:59 tomorrow night. Remember to always keep a pen and pad with you, or be sure to keep notes on your phone. Voice recorders on cellphones do wonders, too. Always be prepared!

Leave a Reply

