Starting Over

I feel like I’m on the edge of becoming. I’ve been living in such a literal, narrow world for so long that I’ve become ignorant. There are so many things that I’ve never heard about, so many different paths that I can pursue. It’s just dawning on me that scholarly education is nothing if not paired with true intellectual education. I can make grades and pass tests, but if I know nothing of what I am and where my people come from, it’s all for naught. I feel as though I’m discovering a new world, one where I don’t have to bend to meet society’s standards. I’ve always thought I was happy with what I was and where I was going, but now…now I’m happy. Happy because I’m starting. Happy because I’m beginning.
I’m young enough to start over, aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

